A S K  A  V E G    |    T H E  V E G  D I E T    |    G O I N G  O U T    |    N U T R I T I O N A L  I N F O    |    R E C I P E S    |    G I F T S

For many people, when speaking with or converting to a vegetarian, one of the main questions asked is...

"What do I eat?"

To put it simply, you eat plants! From fruits and vegetables to seeds and nuts, and then to grains, there are so many other food options out there for you to thrive off of and gain a much more enriched diet of vitality.

It definitely gets easier the longer you have explored the vegetarian realms, but for the most part it's not very hard to do. If you cook at home a lot, rather than using a meat, substitute with a type of bean or other protein (like tofu and other meat substitutes). Or if you are not seeking protein from a specific dish, then substitute a vegetable like eggplant, bok choy, or zucchini in your recipes where they would normally call for meat. I'm sure these will come out very delicious! You can use the same spices and everything, just throw in some plants and enjoy!

I encourage you to go to your produce section or a local farmer's market and discover the random vegetables that you normally might overlook. Examine those weird green plants buried between the broccoli and celery, like kale, collard greens, bok choy and such. You will be surprised by what you find. They are all very good for you!

If you are concerned about supplementing and nutritional info and want to educate yourself to a certain degree, check out our Nutritional Info page. For meal examples that incorporate these nutrition techniques, swing by our Recipes page!

Vegetarian: A completely herbavore diet where no meats (fish, beef, poultry, pork, etc.) are consumed.

There are several variations of the vegetarian diet. To be vegetarian means you don't eat meat, and you usually allow for the consumption of animal bi-products like eggs, diary, broths, etc. This diet is described with a few prefixes.

A diet with the prefix "Lacto-" Includes the consumption of dairy products.

A diet with the prefix "Ovo-" Includes the consumption of eggs.

Where a Lacto-vegetarian would consume dairy products, an Ovo-vegetarian would not.

Where an Ovo-vegetarian eats eggs, a Lacto-vegetarian does not.

If you eat both dairy and eggs, you are classified as a "lacto-ovo-vegetarian."

Now a vegan diet is a vegetarian diet which excludes all animal products and bi-products. No eggs, no diary, no animal broths, etc. In fact, most vegans don't eat a variety of things because of the animal bi-products used for their creation. Many don't purchase leather, silk, or use any other items where an animal was involved in the production like soaps and other cosmetics. Basically, Vegans are hardcore.

There are still other variations of these diets, like Pescatarians (seafood= the only meat allowed) or Fruititarians (only eat fruit.) Whatever diet you choose to follow, for whatever beautiful reason, just be safe and eat healthy! Getting a good variety of different foods is always a great way to maintain a sustainable diet and healthy living.

***All recipes and nutritional info are for a vegan diet, as this is applicable to most vegetarian diets.***